A Statement from Her Majesty the Queen Regarding Harry, Meghan and the Coming Trials of Severance

Jake Christie
4 min readJan 14, 2020

Published 13 January 2020

Today my family had very constructive discussions on the future of my grandson and his family.

My family and I are entirely supportive of Harry and Meghan’s desire to create a new life as a young family. Although we would have preferred them to remain full-time working Members of the Royal Family, we respect and understand their wish to live a more independent life as a family while remaining a valued part of my family, and they will be allowed to do so once they have completed The Trials of Severance.

While The Trials have never been invoked in my lifetime, they have a storied yet secret history in the annals of the Royal Family. Because their origins lie somewhere in the eleventh century, The Trials may seem somewhat antiquated, unduly harsh and even barbaric. While reviewing the details of the coming Trials with my most trusted barristers and historians, there were even some untoward elements that moved me to stand, place my gloved fingertips lightly on the table, and gaze worriedly into the middle distance. I’m sure you can imagine how difficult this is for me to admit.

Alas, our hands are bound by history; The Trials of Severance must proceed as they were written lo those…

--

--